The story of Artox, the General of Fire Element.

The touching and melancholy story about Artox is well known. Any minstrel of Eviron can sing it even in a sleep. Virgins and young men pale, when they heard it, and asked the Gods to save them from such a fate. So, he was young and lovely, the heart of many beauties fell at his feet, but Artox was steady. In search of true love, he traveled so far, until met a charming maiden, whose voice was like a nightingale warbling. But her father was a cruel tyrant and despot. He thought that this young man was unworthy the hand and the heart of his daughter.

He made a lot of dirty tricks to separate the couple in love. But all his efforts repeatedly failed. Then, being in a rage he ordered his soldiers to seize Artox, disfigure him and drive out of town. The following night the tyrant found that his daughter ran away from the palace. In search of the fugitive, he found his daughter in the nearest oasis in the arms of a young man recently disfigured by soldiers. Rage and anger seized him again, and he gave the fateful order to burn the boy alive.

Tied to a post Artox looked only at his beloved, as long as the flames and acrid smoke from the firewood had not stiffened his eyes. The Tyrant rejoiced, he managed to punish the audacious youngster. The only thing troubled his turbid mind: this wicked puppy did not utter even a cry or word.

The satrap admired his victory and enjoyed charred flesh and bones. Only the heart of brutally slained Artox was burning with bright unquenchable flame, which was impossible to appease. Frightened and surprised father took his daughter to a palace and locked in her room.

Nobody knows how the ifrits heard about this unprecedented miracle. Perhaps they do it all rigged. Fire spirits took Artox’s heart to their monastery, filled it with vitality and revived him as equal. Not a man, but the Ifreet. It seemed they made him to be faithful servant of Fire army. And so it happened.

Imprisoned in the fiery envelope of the new flesh, heart of the Artox resisted such an existence and began to fade. For a long time he could not cope with this disaster, but his power grew with each new day. He explores the world with a new, hitherto unknown to him eagerness. The newborn ifreet understood that Fire can't help him. Only the Air element can revive the dying fire. Having found a remedy solution in the air magic, the young ifreet didn’t stop and mastered the force of unknown element till the lightest breath of wind.

With all his strength and wisdom, he could not stop thinking about the evil Satrap and his daughter, which undoubtedly was waiting for him. But in the city evil tidings waited for him. The soul of his beloved could not stand such abuse, and the maiden threw herself from the balcony of the palace. Even after her death the Tyrant didn’t stop his deeds and Artox killed him.

He looked at the skull of cruel enemy, in his empty sockets. His tears dropped at the coffin of his beloved and the soul of young ifreet was paralyzed by icy cold. In desperation, he turned to the darkest spells, which are subjects to a death only. But even they did not help to bring back the soul of a sweet maiden and worst enemy.

That's the story of how a kind and funny young man became callous and prudent commander of the Fire element’s army, which is now wreaking death and destruction in its path.

История полководца стихии Огня Артокса

 История о любви Артокса трогательной и печальной настолько известна, что её может пропеть любой менестрель в мире Эвирона. Девы и юноши бледнеют, услышав её, и просят стихии отвести такую судьбу от них. Он был юн и прекрасен, сердце многих красавиц упало к его ногам, но Артокс был непреклонен. В поисках истиной любви он странствовал до тех пор, пока не встретил очаровательную деву, чей голос был подобен соловьиной трели. Но отец любимой, жестокий тиран и самодур, посчитал юношу недостойным руки своей дочери.

 Много подлостей совершил он, чтобы разлучить их. Но все его усилия раз за разом оканчивались неудачей. Тогда в ярости приказал он воинам схватить Артокса, изуродовать его и изгнать из города. В следующую ночь тиран обнаружил, что дочь его сбежала из дворца. Снарядив отряд на поиски беглянки, он нашёл её в ближайшем оазисе в объятиях изуродованного его солдатами юноши. Ярость и гнев захватили его, и отдал он роковой приказ – сжечь юношу живьём.

 Привязанный к столбу Артокс смотрел только на свою милую, до тех пор, пока языки пламени и едкий дым от хвороста не застили ему глаза. Отец девы ликовал, он смог наказать дерзновенного юнца. Единственная вещь смущала его замутнённый разум. Умирая, этот нечестивый щенок не издал ни единого крика, не проронил даже слова.

 Оставшись полюбоваться на дело рук своих, сатрап наслаждался обугленными плотью и костями. Лишь сердце злодейски умерщвленного юноши горело ярким негасимым пламенем, которое унять было невозможно, и продолжало биться. Испуганный и удивлённый отец забрал любимую Артокса во дворец и заперся там.

 Неизвестно каким чудом дошла весть о таком небывалом случае до ифритов, а, возможно, они сами всё это подстроили. Огненные духи забрали сердце Артокса в свою обитель, наполнили жизненной силой и возродили равным себе. Не человеком, но ифритом. Мнили они его верным слугой своей армии. Так и случилось.

 Заключённое в огненную оболочку новой плоти, сердце Артокса противилось такому существованию и начало гаснуть. Долго он не мог совладать с этой бедой, но могущество его росло с каждым днём. Познавал он мир с новым, доселе неизвестным ему рвением. Понял возрождённый, что не по силам магии огня справиться с этим недугом и обратился к знаниям других стихий. Ничто так не разжигает огонь, как воздух. Найдя спасительное решение в стихии воздуха, не остановился юноша на достигнутом и освоил её до легчайшего дуновения ветра.

 Набравшись сил и мудрости, не мог он не вспомнить о злобном сатрапе и любимой, которая, несомненно, ждала его. Но злая весть ждала его в городе. Душа любимой не выдержала такого надругательства над чувствами, и дева бросилась с балкона дворца, а отец её в горестях начал казнить свой народ, доведя его до восстания.

 Долго смотрел на череп своего врага Артокс, в его пустые глазницы, на гроб с телом своей ненаглядной, и душу его сковывал ледяной холод. В отчаянии он обратился к самым тёмным заклинаниям, которые подвластны лишь самой Смерти. Но даже они не помогли вернуть душу милой девы и злейшего врага.

 Именно так добрый и весёлый юноша стал бездушным и расчётливым полководцем армии огненной стихии, который ныне сеет смерть и разрушения на своём пути.